Texas Relays is America’s second biggest track and field event after Penn Relays. The Relays are held every March or April at the Mike A. Myers Stadium at The University of Texas at Austin (UT) in Austin, Texas.

Texas Relays started as a men-only competition in 1925 by UT’s Coach Clyde Littlefield and Athletic Director Theo Bellmont. The Relays were held at the Daryll K. Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium until 1999 when Mike A. Myers Stadium opened.

As you flip through the Second Annual Texas Relay program you will find a great picture of the stadium, the schedule of events, Relay numbers, and biographies for then-current UT President, W. M. W. Splawn, Major John L. Griffith, the father of the Drake Relays, and H. J. Lutcher Stark, the chairman for the University Board of Regents.

To learn more about the founder of Texas Relays, Clyde Littlefield, check out our online exhibit “Clyde Littlefield: The Life of a Texas Legend“.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.