Founded Texas Relays

In 1925, track coach, Clyde Littlefield, and athletic director, Theo Bellmont, founded the nationally recognized Texas Relays.  Since that time, the Texas Relays have been dedicated to him twice, in 1945 and 1963.  The Texas relays were officially named “The Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays” in 1963.  today the Texas Relays are the second largest track event in the United States, only second to the Penn Relays.  For 32 years, Littlefield was director of the relays and stepped down from that position in 1957.

Learn more about the Texas Relays.